text-only page produced automatically by Lift Text Transcoder
News & Events
American Institute of Chemical Engineers Award
Start: 12/04/08
End: 12/31/10

In a ceremony during its Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), presented awards to 14 leaders and innovators in the chemical engineering field.

AIChE bestowed its highest honor, the Founder's Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Chemical Engineering, to four recipients this year. Dr. Morton M. Denn, of the City College of the City University of New York, Dr. Robert S. Langer, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Dr. Donald R. Paul and Dr. Nicholas A. Peppas, both of the University of Texas at Austin, were the recipients of AIChE's major award.

Dr. Denn is the Albert Einstein Professor of Science and Engineering at CUNY, and is a leader in polymer-flow studies, process dynamics and modeling, and has written a series of well-regarded textbooks.

Dr. Langer is one of MIT's 13 Institute Professors. He has written approximately 1,000 articles, and has more than 600 issued or pending patents worldwide. Dr. Langer has received over 160 significant awards.

Dr. Paul is the Ernest Cockrell, Sr. Chair in Engineering at the University of Texas, Austin and is both the Director of the Texas Materials Institute and Editor of Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research.

Dr. Peppas has published more than 1,025 refereed publications, 350 proceedings and 320 abstracts, and is the inventor of 35 U.S. and international patents. He is the Fletcher Pratt Chaired Professor of Chemical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering and Pharmacy at the University of Texas at Austin.

AIChE also honored these 10 outstanding chemical engineers: * Dr. James C. Hill, University professor and Chair at Iowa State University, Regional Editor of Fluid Dynamics Research, and former AIChE Board of Directors member, received the F.J. and Dorothy Van Antwerpen Award for Service to the Institute.
  • Dr. Pablo G. Debenedetti, Vice Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science at Princeton University and prior winner of the Professional Progress Award from AIChE, was presented the William H. Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to Chemical Engineering Literature.
  • Dr. Michael S. Strano, Charles and Hilda Roddey associate professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellow and member of the editorial board at the international journal Carbon, received the Allan P. Colburn Award for Excellence in Publications by a Young Member of the Institute.
  • Dr. Jeffrey Alan Hubbell, Professor Ordinarius of Biomedical Engineering and Director of the Integrative Biosciences Institute at Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne in Switzerland, researcher of biomaterials with applications in tissue engineering and pharmaceuticals, received the Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research.
  • Dr. Benny Freeman, Kenneth A. Kobe Professor in Chemical Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin, and researcher of the relationship between polymer structure, processing and properties, was presented the Institute Award for Excellence in Industrial Gases Technology.
  • Dr. Chaitan Khosla, Chair of chemical engineering, Stanford University, garnered the Professional Progress Award for Outstanding Progress in Chemical Engineering. This award goes to an individual who has made significant contributions to chemical engineering before the age of 45.
  • Dr. Lisa Brannon-Peppas, founder of Biogel Technology, inventor of NanoDeliver technology for cancer treatment, and former AIChE director, received the Award in Chemical Engineering Practice.* Dr. Michael T. Klein, Dean of Engineering and Board of Governors Professor at Rutgers, was presented the R.H. Wilhelm Award in Chemical Reaction Engineering; and
  • Drs. Julian C. Smith and Peter Harriott both received the Warren K. Lewis Award for Chemical Engineering Education. Smith completed 40 years of service to Cornell University by guiding the school through a period of unprecedented growth, increasing the emphasis on research and greatly expanding the graduate program. Harriott was the Fred H. Rhodes Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering for 26 of his 48 years at Cornell, and published one of the first control texts written for chemical engineers.
"I remain inspired by the outstanding achievements of AIChE members," said John Sofranko, Executive Director of AIChE. "Our honorees have made so many great contributions not only to the chemical engineering profession, but to society."

About AIChE
AIChE, celebrating its 100th anniversary this year, is a professional association of more than 40,000 chemical engineers in 92 countries. Its members work in corporations, universities and government using their knowledge of chemical processes to develop safe and useful products for the benefit of society. For more information about the conference and AIChE, please go to www.aiche.org. 
The Grove School of Engineering

Grove School of Engineering
Dr. Gilda Barabino, Dean

Steinman Building
160 Convent Avenue
New York NY 10031
P | 212.650.5435
F | 212.650.5768
E | engineering@ccny.cuny.edu

The City College of New York

160 Convent Avenue
New York, NY 10031
(212) 650 7000

Find us on:
© Copyright, The City College of The City University of New York. All rights reserved.
Website Powered by: CommonSpot