Dr. Kenneth Clark

Welcome to the Department of Psychology!

Our department trains leaders in the science and practice of psychology. We offer a range of undergraduate and graduate programs in the fields of alcohol and substance abuse, mental health counseling, clinical psychology, general psychology and work psychology. Field work is an essential part of most programs and puts the classroom learning into real-life situations.


Hours are subject to change. Please call the Psychology Office at x5442 with questions and clarifications, for available advising hours, or contact advisors directly.

  • Monday - Vietze: 9:30am-12pm, Barrett: 12:30pm-2pm, King: 3:30pm-5pm, Silverstein: 5:20pm-6:20pm
  • Tuesday - King: 4:30pm-5:30pm
  • Wednesday - Vietze: 9:30am-12pm, King: 3:30pm-5:30pm
  • Thursday - Paino: 11am-12:30pm, Silverstein: 2:30pm-3:30pm
  • Friday - Melara: 2pm-4pm

Sophie Barrett: NA 7/214, x5900 sbarrett@ccny.cuny.edu - Monday: 12:30pm-2pm
William King: NA 7/323, x5689 wking@ccny.cuny.edu - Monday and Wednesday: 3:30pm-5:30pm, Tuesday: 4:30pm-5:30pm
Robert Melara: NA 7/201, x5716 rmelara@ccny.cuny.edu - Friday: 2pm-4pm
Richard Paino: NA 8/119, x6851 rpaino@ccny.cuny.edu - Thursday: 11am-12:30pm
Brett Silverstein: NA 7/120A, x5700 bsilverstein@ccny.cuny.edu - Monday: 3:30pm-5pm, Thursday: 2:30pm-3:30pm
Deborah Vietze: NA 7/303, x5690 dr.d.vietze@gmail.com - Monday and Wednesday: 9:30am-12pm

Psychology Dept staff are available to help with general questions Monday through Thursday after 3:30pm.


Congratulations Class of 2019 Student Award Winners!

The Department of Psychology is proud to announce the following award recipients: 

The Joseph E. Barmack Awards 

For the best theses in the undergraduate honors program and the General Psychology Masters Program, and for the best undergraduate honors thesis. This year's recipients are:
Undergraduate honors program - Arislenia Fernandez-Reinoso
General Psychology Masters Program - Mikael Rubin
Clinical PhD Program - Jeffrey Erbe

The Bernard R. Ackerman Foundation Award

For a graduating undergraduate psychology major who displays exceptional ability and promise. This year's recipient is Laura Trahms.

The Gardner Murphy Memorial Award 

In memory of first Chairperson of the Psychology Department, this award is given to a graduating psychology major who has displayed outstanding service to the Department or the College. This year's recipient is Massiel Celi-Serrano.

The Francis P. Hardesty Award 

Awarded a graduating undergratuate who shows excellence in who has exhibited outstanding grades and research potential.  This year's recipient is Carol Lituma.

The Ward Medal 

For the most academically accomplished Psychology major, chosen based on grade point average. This year's recipient is Eika Davis.

The Joseph E. Barmack Awards

Given for the best theses in the Clinical Psychology Ph.D. Program and the General Psychology Masters Program, and for the best undergraduate honors thesis. This year's recipients are:

  • From the Clinical Psychology PhD Program, Florence Lui.
  • From the General Psychology Masters Program, Christina T. Schulz
  • From the undergraduate Honors Program, Ji Yoon Jung

The Kenneth B. Clark Award 

Created to honor the life and work of Dr. Kenneth B. Clark in furthering our understanding of psychology and race in America, it is awarded to a student for contributions to similar issues. This year's recipient is Tonima Rahman.

Mamie and Kenneth Clark

Contact Information

North Academic Center
Room 7/120
160 Convent Avenue
New York, NY 10031

p: 212.650.5442
f: 212.650.5659